History of the Buildings
The first Wairaka house was built in 1894 and at that time was a low-thatched house made of raupo. The second Wairaka house was built in 1912 during the time of Te Hurinui Apanui. Riini Hētaraka was the principal carver and builder of the house. The Wharenui has unique features including the types of carvings on the amo and the curved ceiling.
In the 1950’s renovations were made after a fire damaged the Wharenui. The land on which the marae stands was gazetted in 1967 and its legal description is Wairaka A40. In 1972, major renovations were undertaken including the addition of a side door to the wharekai and a rear storage room. The carvings were fully restored in 2002.
The first dining room built of corrugated iron was built after World War 1. A new Wharekai was completed in 1964. Major renovations to the kitchen were made in 2007.